What's cooking at the Blue Fox Cafe
All about the ins and outs of writing

Memorial Day in America

American flags on display - by - Lipton sale, courtesy of Wikipedia

American flags on display - by - Lipton sale, courtesy of Wikipedia

Memorial has come and gone already and now it is the first of June. I celebrated Memorial Day by riding around the deserted streets of Portland, Maine on my bicycle and watching a war movie, The Hurt Locker. When this film recently won best picture award at the 2010 Oscars, I was silently wondering how that was possible. Now, that I have seen the picture, I am a little bit more understanding how this movie might be so honored.

I remember a job that I had in high school cutting grass in a small cemetery at a rural parish. The grave plots were right near my home and it was my task to see that the cemetery was mowed and trimmed for the May 30th holiday. (This was before the era of 3-day weekends) I got the place mowed in time, but the job of trimming every gravestone in the place was in a state of partial completion, when the holiday arrived. The spring growing season of the Mid-Atlantic was just too much for me to keep up with.

As a result, whenever I pass by a nicely manicured cemetery, I am a little bit more respectful to the time and efforts  of those who  visit a small plot on a regular basis.  There is a lot of sadness in the world.

Proper vertical display of the United States flag: credit; File:Flag of the United States.svg, coutesy of Wikipedia,

No Responses to “Memorial Day in America”

Leave a Reply

