What's cooking at the Blue Fox Cafe
All about the ins and outs of writing

Using Images As Prompts

half a man in the royalgardens of Prague

half a man in the royalgardens of Prague

History of An Image

I snapped this picture, while wandering around Prague with an old Pentax viewfinder film camera. The year was 2003 and it was my first visit to the continent. Immediately upon encountering this real-life and surreal setup, I knew I had a memorial picture. In real life, some nursery (trees and plants) workers had set this figure up in a large landscaping venture, located not very far from the the Royal Castle of Prague that is situated high on a hill on the west side of the Vltava River. I imagined that the creation was partly a  joke and perhaps partly critical of their work situation, but in all honesty, I have no proof to back up this theory. Still, it is an unusual picture that gets lots of interest every time I display it.

The Story

From this picture I crafted a 1,000 word piece of flash fiction, which I sold to an online arts journal, called The Writer’s Eye. Unfortunately, the venue is now closed down, but I am proud to have displayed my craft with them. Recently, I posted the story as a freebie at Smashwords. If you like, you can go to the site and download the story for free on your Kindle, Nook, Sony or Kobo reader. The story is a whimsical tale with elements of the surreal and macabre.

About Prague

Prague is a beautiful place to send some time. The main part of the city is a place lost in time and for all those who journey to Europe to saunter down old cobblestone streets and stare at Gothic and early Renaissance buildings, it doesn’t get much better than Prague. I thoroughly  enjoyed getting lost in the twisty old alleyways and wandering aimlessly for the entire day. Besides that the Pilsen beer is excellent, as is the Bohemian-style cooking.

No Responses to “Using Images As Prompts”

Leave a Reply

