What's cooking at the Blue Fox Cafe
All about the ins and outs of writing

My New Novel, Acadian Rendezvous

Cover for Acadian Rendezvous

Cover for Acadian Rendezvous

Simple Beginning

This 80,000 word novel started out as a short story. The tale was originally entitled “The Art Critics”, but I changed the name to “A Night In Old New Orleans”. You can read the 6,000  word story here on Smashwords. After I completed the short story, I signed up from the November novel writing event at NanoWriMo. I spent the whole month working on a completely different novel than the one I posted up at Smashwords. Then I showed a synopsis to a friend who was an agent for screenwriters. He liked the concept behind the story, but I have not put much effort into the second manuscript. Then I showed the short story called “The Art Critics” to the screenplay agent and he liked that also.

Query Before Revision

Then I went to town on the Art Critics. I wrote several more stories about New Orleans, then tackled the section about New Mexico and would the thing up with a trip back east by my main characters. Along the way, I incorporated a bunch of other short stories into the manuscript into it vaguely resembled a novel. Then, as if it was a bottle of wine I let it sit for about a year. About a year ago I started rewriting and querying. I only received three requests for partials out of nearly a 100 inquiries. So I gave up on the queries and kept on with the revision. Just this past June, I published the completed manuscript, even though I could not afford an editor. The front cover is also of my own making.  I’m glad it’s done with for now I can return to the original manuscript I tackled during national writing month. Still I’m pleased as punch that I was able to create a novel out out of a short story.

Looking Back

In looking back I’m glad I took the circuitous route, even though the method was probably a bit unorthodox. The biggest thrill was sending out the queries to prospective agents and waiting for their replies. I am now looking forward to completing novel #2, so I can do the same thing again.  I know the urge is to query too soon and I’m sure this will be a big problem as I get close to finishing  my second long story. In the mean time you can check out Acadian Rendezvous. It should be a fun read.

Acadian Rendezvous features a long cross country bus ride.

Acadian Rendezvous features a long cross country bus ride.

No Responses to “My New Novel, Acadian Rendezvous”

Leave a Reply

