What's cooking at the Blue Fox Cafe
All about the ins and outs of writing

Path

This bike path near St. George, Utah has a strong resemblance to the proverbial

This bike path near St. George, Utah has a strong visual resemblance to the proverbial “Red Road”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Path

Path

My time in St. George, Utah consisted of camping out in the red rock desert just north of the city limits. My trip into town included traveling down this scenic bike path. Once in town, my first stop was usually the public library.

On one of my walks around town a woman gave me a ride across town and during our conversation she suggested I check out the visitor center of the local Mormon temple. Not wanting to seem like a prude, I eventually did make a trip to the visitor center, where I saw a bunch of fascinating paintings and I also learned how the town got its name.

For those of you who might think this desert oasis is named after the English saint, who slayed the dragon, you’re wrong. (I must admit that I am one of those.) Instead, the town title comes from George Smith, brother of Joseph Smith, who cured the residents from sickness by encouraging them to eat the skin off the potatoes. Before that, the early settlers were skinning the potatoes before consumption, thus eliminating a bunch of natural vitamins.

 

No Responses to “Path”

Leave a Reply

