What's cooking at the Blue Fox Cafe
All about the ins and outs of writing

How Has Writing Affected the Way You Read?

How has being a writer changed your experience as a reader?

n-c-wyeth-the-giant-1923-oil

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the actual question as it was posted at the IWSG site.

Being a writer did not change my reader habits very much, until recently, when I set out on writing a middle grade novel.¬†Actually, my intention was only to write a Young Adult novel, based on some autobiographical events that happened during my teen and pre-teen years. However, for better or worse, the word count on my YA novel kept growing…..and growing…..and growing, until I was staring at the 100,000 word mark.

This was way too long for a YA novel (unless your last name is Rowling), so I did what any prudent writer would do; I split the manuscript in two. Not evenly of course, but the first third went into my MG novel and the second two thirds became the basis for my YA story. This was a very convenient split, especially since the first part of my story covered the grade school years, while the remainder centered on 7th through 12 grade.

As I shopped the MG tale around, my response was almost non-existent. That’s when I discovered the main missing ingredient, middle grade voice, and that also explains while I am currently reading short, simply written books designed for fourth, fifth and six graders. To my surprise the reading has been very rewarding, though I am still struggling to find my new middle grade voice.

 

8 Responses to “How Has Writing Affected the Way You Read?”

  1. Welcome to the IWSG. Glad to have you here. Isn’t it odd how reading can affect your writing and vice versa? I too would have to read some middle-grade works in order to find that kind of voice. Glad to hear you are on the right track.

  2. Finding the MG voice can be quite challenging. Keep reading and keep working on it!
    Welcome to the IWSG

  3. You’re on the right track! Just think, when you’re done, you’ll have three complete novels to shop around or publish! Reading to learn better writing skills is fun, I think, and discovering your own voice is too. Thanks for sharing. Christy (aka Cecelia) from erica and christy http://www.lynneawest.blogspot.com

  4. On your journey of self-discover, you’ll find your voice. Welcome to IWSG. Looking forward to hearing more about you.

  5. Hi. Just wanted to welcome you to the IWSG Group. Your blog looks beautiful! I write middle grade as well as young adult, so I understand how important it is to get that MG voice and make it distinct from YA or Adult. Good luck.

  6. Welcome to the IWSG!
    Hope you discover that middle grade voice soon!

  7. Thanks for all the nice comments. By the way, next on my MG reading list is Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book.

  8. Welcome to IWSG. I read once that finding your voice was a matter of just writing a lot. I’m still working on mine too.
    Happy IWSG Belated Day!
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit


Leave a Reply

